By Gerald L. Maatman, Jr. and Christopher J. DeGroff

Calling all loyal blog readers – the EEOC-Initiated litigation webinar is scheduled for Tuesday, February 25, 2013. Click here to register and attend.

Our readers have given us wide-ranging feedback since the launch of our annual EEOC litigation study, EEOC-Initiated Litigation: Case Law Developments In 2013 And Trends To Watch For In 2014. This publication is a definitive source of information that focuses exclusively on EEOC-related litigation (click here to order a copy). Our webinar will provide a comprehensive review of these workplace litigation trends and provide attendees with updates on 2014 rulings. 

The book’s Co-authors Gerald L. Maatman, Jr. and Christopher J. DeGroff, co-chairs of the firm’s Complex Discrimination Litigation practice group, will lead this interactive discussion.

Some substantive trends to be discussed are:

• A Transforming Docket: Systemic Initiative– Evolution in the EEOC’s agenda to champion bigger, more complex, and more media-driven cases was prevalent in 2013.

• ADA Cases a Key Priority– Even though it is not expressly one of the EEOC’s “Big Six” national priorities, assertion of disability claims was a chart-topper for the EEOC in FY 2013.

• EEOC Focused on Pregnancy Discrimination– The EEOC is clearly focused on breaking the “maternal wall” with its litigation of pregnancy discrimination litigation and its declaration that it is a “widespread problem in the workplace, no matter the size of the employer.

• Religion Lawsuits on the Rise– Religious discrimination lawsuits filed by the EEOC rose 33 percent in 2013.

• 2013: Mixed Bag for Subpoena Enforcement Actions – EEOC filings dropped by nearly half, down from 33 in 2012 to 17 in 2013, but the EEOC v. Aerotek and EEOC v. HomeNurse opinions provide employers with critical “goal posts” delineating the scope of the EEOC’s subpoena authority.

The time and date of the webinar is Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at:

1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern

12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Central

11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Mountain

10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Pacific

Speakers Christopher J. DeGroff  and Gerald L. Maatman Jr.

Readers can also find this post on our Workplace Class Action blog here.